Second Grade Poetry Journals

English Class second graders have been compiling a poetry journal since the beginning of the school year as part of their English language arts course.

Poetry is rhythm, beats, sounds and music. It is the most kinesthetic of literature forms. Poetry shows children how to express experiences in their lives using imagery, metaphor and symboloic langugage. Poetry is a short piece of imaginative writing. Even with limited English vocabulary pupils, can understand the personal nature of poetry.

In addition to writing down poems in their journals written by others, English Class second graders have written some poems of their own as a group. They also have memorized some of the poems. Recitation is a good form of exercising the brain and practicing presentation skills. Click the photos to better read the poems.

I3I10
I8
I2I4
i7
I5I6I1
I9

Leave a comment